tjmanotoc.ph
Tech, Sports, and Health. All that keeps TJ busy

Michael Jordan: The Greatest Of All-Time Finally In The Hall Of Fame

nba_a_jordan2_sw_200

When i first heard the news that my childhood idol would be finally inducted in the Basketball Hall of Fame, i was not surprised. What surprises me at times is how long the HOF takes to induct a well deserved athlete or coach. But none the less, nobody on this planet will ever doubt that he deserves a spot in there.

Yesterday was a busy day for me as it was my wife’s birthday and my son’s baptism. I was oblivious to all the chatter and emotions flowing around on the net and ll over the world as MJ was officially inducted he gave his acceptance speech.

As i woke up this morning seeing my bballing friends’ updates and tweets about that moment, i could not let it slip away. So thanks to @marcomanipon on twitter who led me to the link on NBA.com for the full speech.

As i watched it, i could not help but get emotional and teary eyed to see MJ get up on stage and the first thing he does is shed tears of joy and appreciation. I have always seen him as an extremely passionate man. So being emotional with his passions, failures, and successes is not a surprise to see.

It was great to just relieve the moment of his career in my mind as he thanked those who helped him achieve his success. But more than thanking his coaches and his teammates, what got me the most was the time he spent thanking his opponents and nemesis on and off the court that continued to fuel the flame, add “the wood to the fire” as he says too add to his continuously growing “competitive nature”.

That’s what i’ve always loved most about MJ, not the fancy moves, not the winnings shots, not the 6 rings. But the character of this man and his sheer handwork and optimism that made him the success that he is. He inspired me and millions others all over the world with how he achieved his success.

I only pray that the players and stars of today could have a similar mindset that its not all about he millions of dollars and the fancy moves and even the titles. but its about making a difference in people’s lives beyond basketball. I have always firmly believed that competitive sports builds character like no other, and seeing MJ personify this defines it it all the more for me.

As i share with you video of his full speech at HOF ceremonies i’d also like to share  with you his final words of that speech.

Thank you Michael for sharing your success and passion with all of us!

The game of basketball has been everything to me, my refuge, my place where i’ve always gone when i needed to find comfort and peace.

Its been a source of intense pain and a source of the most intense feelings of joy and satisfaction and one that no one can even imagine.

Its a relationship that has evolved over time and has given me the greatest respect and love for the game.

It has provided me with a platform to share my passion with millions in a way i neither expected nor could’ve imagined to happen in my career

I hope that its given the millions of people that i have touched the optimism and desire to achieve their goals through handwork, perseverance, and positive attitude.

Although im recognized with this tremendous honor of being in the basketball hall of fame. I don’t look at this moment as the defining end of my relationship with basketball. Its simple a continuation of something I started a long time ago. One day you might look up and see me playing the game at 50… oh don’t laugh. Never say never. Because limits like fears, are often just an illusion.”

Michael Jordan’s HOF acceptance speech

3 Responses to “Michael Jordan: The Greatest Of All-Time Finally In The Hall Of Fame”

  1. Finally, good to hear that he was already in the Hall of Fame and no doubt about it. He really deserve it and I do believe that everybody would want him to be in that position.

  2. michael jordan is like michael jackson in music industry… massive talent, passionate and humble! michael jordan is an icon and an inspiration to us all! congratulations MJ!

  3. Apparently some basketball writers didn’t like his speech because he attacked people like Van Gundy. http://tinyurl.com/mqbym5


Leave a Reply

